Sparks, 2/2

Strangers to each other. Soon to be lovers. A story of two people who met under the moonlight, not in Paris, but in some not so familiar but beautiful place. Oblivious to the world around them, obviously attracted to each other. It all started there, that undeniable spark.

‘Hi. It’s kinda awkward to ask, but you know where can I buy something that can make me happy?’ He’s too shy to ask but asked anyway.

‘Are you some kind of drunk?’ That’s the weirdest question she encountered so far that day.

‘I know it’s really weird but I just want some place where I can let my heart rest.’ He’s just tired, tired of everything.

‘Well I know a hospital nearby, I can drop you off.’ She said, sarcastically.

‘Oh, that’s harsh but thanks. But no hospital can mend a broken heart I guess.’

‘So you’re one of the million millenials who claims that there heart had broken by some girl?’

For someone who’s never been inlove, she’s like that and she’s just tired hearing the same sentiments of people about love and breaking all over again. She’s also tired, but not the kind of tired the guy infront of him is feeling in the moment. In some weird sense, she kind of feel the pain and loss of the guy that she sense something beautiful in him. Which makes it even weird because he doesn’t know this guy.

‘Maybe I’m a little bit disoriented but she is not just ‘some girl’. I love her. She loved me. With all our hearts. But I guess the problem there is I love a little harder than her that makes the love not worthy at all.’

‘You know, I don’t have much experience when it comes to love but I assure you, when you love someone, no matter how big or little your love for that person, as long as you did your outmost effort to show it to that person, it will always be worthy. Even if the love is not reciprocated in the end.’

‘Woah, that’s kind of comforting. Are you some kind of psychiatrist or counselor?’ He’s starting to like this girl, not because he’s broken, but he sense genuineness with her words. So comforting, so familiar.

‘I’m actually dreaming of being one but I guess I am more fit to be the psyche patient rather than being the doctor.’

They both smile. It started as awkward but they somehow find comfort and humor between the exchange of conversations. They seem comfortable with each other.

‘Hey, do you think it’s weird that we talked about topics like this without knowing each other? I’m Jay and you?’ Shake hands awkwardly.

‘I’m Keena, Kee for short.’

‘Beautiful name it is.’

‘Don’t rely much with the name, it’s just upfront.’

‘Yeah I have to agree. Like my name is really simple but when you get to know me, you would know that I am as awesome and cool as you thought me to be.’

‘Errh. Okay time to go, you’re wasting my time.’ These kind of conversations irritates her, most of the time.

He holds a grip of her arm that sends some shiver in her whole body, a spark. Poetically speaking.

‘Okay, okay. That was just a nonsense joke. I actually enjoy having conversations with you that I don’t know how to keep you entertain that’s why I attempt to made that up. Which didn’t work out anyway.
‘So what makes you alone in this night? You’re not suppose to be alone here. It’s dangerous for you.’ Sounds that he cares.

‘You know sometimes being alone gives me more peace and freedom. I can think more. I can be myself rather than with a bunch of people.’

‘Sounds interesting for me. I dont want to sound like I want to copy you but I also has the same perspective as yours.’

‘Yeah like people makes me lonely sometimes.’

‘Likewise. People are just naturally heart breakers.’

‘Basing from experience uh?’ She noticed the eyebags under his eyes now, that if it is for sale, it will cost a lot. She smile silently. But she also noticed his eyes, that they’re so captivating that she find herself staring unnoticeably at those. Even though physical attritubes doesn’t impress her at all.

‘Hmmm, I guess so. So tell me about your life. You know I can sense that you’re one of those people who just listens to people’s problems and don’t share yours.’

‘What will I tell? There’s nothing interesting in my life that’s why I love listening to other people struggles.’ She sensed that this guy has high sensitivity to life that makes her want to believe him.

‘Come on, I know there is. You can’t be forever a listener, you have to tell story. Your own story.’

Wow, this guy makes her feel that she knows her. In some odd way, she’s liking it. She’s about to speak when suddenly her cellphone rings. A message from her best friend:

‘WHERE ARE YOU? WE’RE SO WORRIED ABOUT YOU. YOUR PARENTS ARE WAITING HOME. PLEASE REPLY ASAP.

‘I’m sorry but I think I need to go home. It’s nice meeting and talking to you.’

‘Oh, jeez. But can I atleast get your number? Or Facebook?’

‘Keena Marquez.’ She smiles and she’s suddenly gone.

They both know that there’s something in there. They felt that spark and both of them hope that they would again feel that way, someday.

*Playing Coldplay’s Sparks*

Leave a Reply

